Danielle Dory

Feeling Insecure?

In Blog on June 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm

As polished, prim, and proper as we might be in the work place, nobody’s perfect.  Whether they are silly or not, we all have insecurities.  For some, this insecurity is the awkward cowlick that makes your hair standup no matter how you pull or prod it.  For others, it is the twitch in your right shoulder when you speak up in a meeting.  Maybe, it’s the pool of sweat gathering under your armpits whenever you are (and are not) nervous.

I have a few insecurities of my own, but my biggest one is my grammar.  Even as an English major from a top-ten ranked liberal arts college, I still catch myself wondering if my grammar is correct which drives me crazy. Once you send an email, proposal, meeting notes –whatever- it’s gone and there’s no getting back those blunders. So here’s a little tip: If you have any questions about what word or phrase to use, go ahead and make Grammar Girl a bookmark.   She’s pretty much my cyber best friend.

Leave a Reply

